Format: Retail CD (In Stock)
  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538543375

  • $90.00

    ISBN: 9781538543368

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538543382

Runtime: 10.33 Hours
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

A compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal—her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland’s most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy—it has even funded Emma’s own groundbreaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac’s running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin, an “expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden” (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King’s Daughter), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A truly fine police procedural.” Irish Independent (Dublin)
“A superbly paced, engaging read.” Women’s Way
“Considering it’s only her second novel, The Scholar is remarkably sure-footed and full-bodied…With its strong characters, sharp psychological insights, and carefully paced plotting, McTiernan’s work inevitably brings to mind—favorably—that of another outstanding female Irish writer, Tana French.” Seattle Times
“There are shades of Ross Macdonald in McTiernan’s sophomore novel: An austere patriarch, successive generations of a family manifesting the same flawed gene, a self-crippling lust for power, money, and status…A complex, densely plotted murder investigation.” Irish Times
“A breakthrough series…The perfectly cast narrator Aoife McMahon is also back for a repeat performance. Everthing about this series is smart, yet more entrertaining than challenging, mkaing for a super satisfying listening experience.” Audible.com
“The complexities of the relationships within the [police] department and the tensions between Reilly and Emma, are rich enough to carry the reader through this story and into the next one.” Publishers Weekly
“The police side of the story follows detectives Cormac Reilly and Carrie O’Halloran, whose day-to-day is as filled with gripping office politics as it is a crime investigation. Delving into a rich family’s business drags more politics into the fray, an aspect of the book that McTiernan weaves well into the human stories that stay at the forefront…The competition rife in academia is a major theme of this delightful and unexpected tale.” Library Journal
“This gripping audiobook [is] narrated in an intense but gentle tone by Aoife McMahon…McMahon’s soft, melodic Irish accent complements McTiernan’s prose. She is equally adept at instilling critical moments with the appropriate intensity, making this thriller a joy to listen to.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: The Scholar

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Dervla McTiernan

Author Bio: Dervla McTiernan

Dervla McTiernan was born in County Cork, Ireland, to a family of seven. She studied corporate law at the National University of Ireland, Galway, and the Law Society of Ireland and then practiced as a lawyer for twelve years. Following the global financial crisis, she moved with her family to Western Australia, where she now lives with her husband and two children. In 2015 she submitted a story for the Sisters in Crime Scarlet Stiletto competition and was short-listed. This gave her the confidence to complete her first novel, The Ruin.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Retail CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.33
Audience: Adult
Language: English