The Crossed-Out Notebook by Nicolás Giacobone audiobook

The Crossed-Out Notebook: A Novel

By Nicolás Giacobone
Translated by Megan McDowell
Read by Jacques Roy

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781501198748

Unabridged

Format: Retail CD (In Stock)
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781508297437

Runtime: 6.31 Hours
Category: Fiction/Literary
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

From the Academy Award-winning cowriter of Birdman, a wonderfully eccentric, suspenseful debut in the tradition of Misery and Kiss of the Spiderwoman about a screenwriter kidnapped by a world-famous director who orders him to compose a masterpiece.

Pablo, a failed Argentine novelist-turned-screenwriter, has been kidnapped by the greatest Latin American film director of all time and is kept in a basement where he works, day after day, on what he is told must at all costs be a great, world-changing screenplay. Every night, after finishing work on the script, Pablo writes in his notebook and every morning he crosses out what he wrote the night before. The Crossed-Out Notebook is Pablo’s diary of this time: being brought food by a maid; being threatened with a gun; vociferously arguing with the director about what he’s written the previous day.

The clash between the two men and their different approaches leads to a movie being made, a gun going off, an unlikely escape, and a final confrontation. In the end, The Crossed-Out Notebook is a darkly funny novel full of intrigue and surprise about the essence of the creative process; a short, crazy ode to any artist whose brilliance shines through strangeness and adversity.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A deceptively straightforward slack-wire act of a novel that probes the hairline crack between selling art and selling out.” Nell Zink, author of Mislaid
“Nicolás Giacobone has done the impossible. The Crossed-Out Notebook is a meta-fictional page-turner.” Daniel Magariel, author of One of the Boys

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: The Crossed-Out Notebook

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Nicolás Giacobone

Author Bio: Nicolás Giacobone

Nicolás Giacobone was born in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 1975. He shared an Academy Award and Golden Globe for co-writing Birdman, which also won the Academy Award for Best Picture.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Retail CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 6.31
Audience: Adult
Language: English