Stealing Fire: How Silicon Valley, the Navy SEALs, and Maverick Scientists Are Revolutionizing the Way We Live and Work

By Steven Kotler  and Jamie Wheal
Read by Fred Sanders

unabridged

Format: Retail CD (In Stock)
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781470856052

  • $59.99

    ISBN: 9781470856069

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470856076

Category: Nonfiction/Business & Economics
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

The author of the bestselling Bold and The Rise of Superman explores altered states of consciousness and how they can ignite passion, fuel creativity, and accelerate problem solving, in this groundbreaking book in the vein of Daniel Pink’s Drive and Charles Duhigg’s Smarter Faster Better.

Why has generating "flow" and getting "into the zone" become the goal of the world’s most elite organizations? Why are business moguls attending Burning Man? Why has meditation become a billion-dollar industry? Why are technology gurus turning to psychedelic drugs to unlock creativity?

All of these people are seeking to shift their state of mind as a way of unlocking their true potential. Altered states, the authors reveal, sharpen our decision making capabilities, unleash creativity, fuel cooperation, and let us tap into levels of inspiration and innovation unavailable at all other times. Stealing Fire combines cutting-edge research and first-hand reporting to explore a revolution in human performance — a movement millions of people strong to harness and utilize some of the most misunderstood and controversial experiences in history.

Building a bridge between the extreme and the mainstream, this groundbreaking and provocative book examines how the world’s top performers—the Navy SEALS, Googlers, Fortune 100 CEOs—are using altered states to radically accelerate performance and massively improve their lives, and how we can too.

Ultimately, Stealing Fire is a book about profound possibility—about what is actually possible for ourselves and our species when we unlock the full potential of the human mind.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An electrifying, fast-paced journey into the deep potential of the human brain.” David Eagleman, neuroscientist, New York Times bestselling author, presenter of PBS’s The Brain

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: Stealing Fire

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Steven Kotler

Steven Kotler is an award-winning journalist and the co-author of the New York Times bestseller Abundance. His nonfiction work West of Jesus was a 2006 PEN West finalist. His work has appeared in the New York Times Magazine, GQ, Wired, Discover, Popular Science, Details, Outside, National Geographic, and elsewhere. He also writes “The Playing Field,” a blog about the science of sport, for PsychologyToday.com. He runs the Rancho de Chihuahua dog sanctuary with his wife in New Mexico.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Jamie Wheal

Jamie Wheal is an expert on peak performance and leadership, specializing in the neuroscience and application of Flow states. He has advised everyone from the US Naval War College and Special Operations Command, the athletes of Red Bull, and the owners of NFL, NBA, MLB, and Premier League teams, to the executives of Google, Deloitte Cisco, and Young Presidents’ Organization. He studied historical anthropology under MacArthur Fellow Patricia Nelson Limerick, specializing in utopian social movements and his work has appeared in anthologies and peer-reviewed academic journals.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Retail CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Business & Economics
Audience: Adult
Language: English