The Silver Arrow by Lev Grossman audiobook

The Silver Arrow

By Lev Grossman
Read by Simon Vance

Little, Brown Young Readers, Little, Brown Books for Young Readers 9780316539531

Unabridged

Format: Library CD (In Stock)
  • $76.99

    ISBN: 9781549106736

Runtime: 3.86 Hours
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English

Summary

Summary

An Amazon Best Book of the Month

From a #1 New York Times bestselling author comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl

“Dear Uncle Herbert, You’ve never met me, but I’m your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?”

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don’t have much to look forward to. Why can’t Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane — that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she’s never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom’s parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas — and so does the Silver Arrow — and soon they’re off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Vivid and amusing…It’s a world all its own.” Booklist (starred review)
“Acclaimed narrator Simon Vance brings his special blend of magic and cheek to Lev Grossman’s middle-grade debut…Vance’s character voices are perfect for the young train conductors, and his choices for the animals are exceptional. They include a burly porcupine, a kindly, wise heron, and many others—all of whom have deft accents that indicate their national habitats.” AudioFile
“Blending elements of conservation and magic, Grossman crafts a timeless-feeling, Travers-tinged adventure…While learning to run the train and solve problems on their own, the siblings bond with myriad passengers and begin to understand global issues surrounding endangered and invasive species, habitat loss, and environmental stewardship….Certain to draw young readers.”  Publishers Weekly
“Both cozy and inspiring, this eco-fable conveys both grim truths and a defiant call to action.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Completely unpredictable and completely charming. A perfect book to cuddle up with and savor—and even better to read aloud with someone you love.” Adam Gidwitz, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: The Silver Arrow

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Lev Grossman

Author Bio: Lev Grossman

Lev Grossman is a senior writer and book critic for Time magazine. His books have been New York Times bestsellers, and in 2011, he was awarded the John W. Campbell Award from the World Science Fiction Society. A graduate of Harvard and Yale, he lives in Brooklyn with his wife and two daughters.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Library CD
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 3.86
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English