Nothing Serious by Daniel Klein audiobook

Nothing Serious: A Novel

By Daniel Klein
Read by William Dufris

Blackstone Publishing

Unabridged

Format : Retail CD (In Stock)
  • $24.95

    ISBN: 9781470843977

  • $55.00

    ISBN: 9781470843984

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781470843953

Runtime: 6.72 Hours
Category: Fiction
Audience: Adult
Language: English

Summary

Summary

Stoned out of his skull—this is how we find washed-up New York magazine writer Digby Maxwell when he is offered a last chance to redeem himself by becoming editor of a small philosophy magazine headquartered in a rural Vermont college town. Digby's assignment is to make the magazine relevant to contemporary culture. For starters, that requires several more tokes, very deep tokes.

A wildly witty novel in the tradition of J. P. Donleavy and Nick Hornby, Nothing Serious takes serious potshots at Manhattan pop culture and academic small-mindedness, sexual obsessions and political correctness, twenty-first century alienation and philosophers ranging from Aristotle to Sartre.   

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Hilarious.” Kirkus Reviews
“Klein is a master of relevant social commentary, and his background as a writer of both mysteries and philosophy is clearly evident, resulting in an exceptional story sprinkled with philosophical overtones and rounded out with the perfect amount of symbolism and allegory. Look to J. P. Donleavy or Nick Hornby for apt comparisons.” Booklist (starred review)
“Klein creates a tightly plotted comedic tale with a genuine emotional center and a sharp satirical wit…Beneath the scabrous humor there is a genuine love for all humanity…Nothing Serious is a short sweet novel, equal parts intellect and comedy—perfect to read on vacation or as a palate-cleanser for more heavy handed fare.” New York Journal of Books

Reviews

Reviews

You're reviewing: Nothing Serious

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Quality
Price
Value

Author

Author Bio: Daniel Klein

Author Bio: Daniel Klein

Daniel Klein is the author of The History of Now, winner of ForeWord magazine’s Silver Award for best literary novel of 2009. He is also coauthor of Heidegger and a Hippo Walk through Those Pearly Gates and the New York Times bestseller Plato and a Platypus Walk into a Bar. He is the author of the 2012 bestseller Travels with Epicurus and numerous other works of fiction, nonfiction, and humor. A graduate of Harvard in philosophy, he lives in Great Barrington, Massachusetts.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Retail CD, Library CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 6.72
Audience: Adult
Language: English